ASK OUR DIETITIANS
Have questions about eating gluten free?
Gluten is a protein found in some grains, primarily wheat, barley and rye. For years, bakers have relied on gluten to achieve a soft, fluffy texture in breads and baked goods. For most people, gluten has no known negative health effects and is part of nutritious foods, particularly whole grains, which provide healthy nutrients like fiber, B vitamins and minerals.
Are you a newly diagnosed Celiac? Did you recently learn that you need to transition to a gluten free diet? You may be eligible to receive a complimentary gluten free care package from your local Festival Foods.
It is estimated that 1% of the American population has an autoimmune condition called celiac disease. When a person with celiac disease eats a food containing gluten, his or her own body will attack itself, causing inflammation and damage. Currently, the only available treatment option for celiac disease is to follow a strict, lifelong gluten free diet.
Some people without celiac disease may also choose to eat gluten free for other personal or health-related reasons, like gluten intolerance and digestive troubles. It is often more difficult to meet nutrient requirements on a gluten free diet, therefore, eliminating gluten is not generally recommended unless warranted by a medical diagnosis, like celiac disease or gluten intolerance. If a gluten free diet is required, our dietitian team recommends filling your plate with a variety of naturally nutritious and gluten free foods like fruits, vegetables, lean meats, poultry, seafood, eggs and dairy.
With the growing rate of celiac disease and gluten intolerance, we at Festival Foods recognize the legitimate need of our newly-diagnosed guests as they make the often challenging transition to a gluten free lifestyle. Gluten free care packages provide an introduction to common gluten free food items, as well as nutrition resources to help assist our valued guests who need to eat gluten free.
Companies that source us with certified gluten free ingredients or products have to meet a certain set of requirements in order to get certified- since we cannot meet those requirements but realize that these products may appeal to those with gluten sensitivities, we only term the specified ingredient as "gluten free" and not the entire product.